Shape Shifters

There will be no video for this post. I had a lot of technical difficulties with it, and wasn’t able to upload it.

Today I will be teaching you lovely people about shape shifters.

Basically, a shape shifter is a human who can transform either into an animal or another human.

The most popular shape shifting legends are those of werewolves, vampires, fox spirits of East Asia, and deities of mythology.

Some people even believe that alien reptoids are capable of shape shifting into humans and are currently living among us.

Isn’t that Scientology?

Other terms for shape shifters include metamorph, skin-walker, mimic, and therianthrope. Try saying that five times fast.

Almost every culture in the world has some sort of transformation myth. Even a lot of animals have myths tied to them.

Although shape shifting is usually about humans who transform into animals, some animals can also shape shift.

Even though werewolves are categorized as shape shifters, there are a few differences.

Shape shifters can transform at will, but werewolves can’t.

Also, shape shifters can usually control their intelligence and actions when in another form.

If Remus Lupin taught us anything, it’s that werewolves don’t have control over their actions when they shift.

Since the werewolf legend is tied closely to the shape shifter legend, a silver bullet is supposedly the only thing that will kill a shape shifter.

Though, some people believe decapitation might work, as well.

So, now that you are an expert on shape shifters, let’s talk about Supernatural.

Shape shifters have come up in a few different episodes, but the circumstances of their appearance changes.

Instead of going through episode-by-episode, I’m just going to give you a brief overview of what a Supernatural shape shifter is.

First, I need to clarify. Even though another term for a shape shifter is a “skin-walker,” Supernatural treats these as two separate things.

A shape shifter can transform into a human, while a skin-walker can transform into an animal. In reality, though, they’re the same thing.

A shape shifter can transform into anyone. When it does, it takes on their physical appearance as well as their voice and memories.

The person it shifts into can be either dead or alive (at this point, I’m really tempted to make a Bon Jovi joke…).

For the shape shifter to become another person, it has to go through a very painful process of shedding its own skin.

The Alpha shape shifter, though, can transform quickly without shedding its skin.

The only easy way to spot a shape shifter is by getting them on video. There is a very distinct retinal flare when they are filmed.

Most shape shifters in the show turn to a life of crime to make up for the fact that they were born ugly and hated by everyone.

The only way for them to be accepted was to become someone else.

That concludes our lovely lesson in the supernatural. Until next time, my fine friends.

About alexisawkward

I'm Alex. I'm a 19-year-old college student majoring in Creative Writing and Screenwriting. I write things. I also make YouTube videos and Tweet about the insignificant details of my daily life. Sometimes I'm funny, but I'm always awkward. I'm one of the weirdest people you'll ever meet. I love nail polish more than anything else in the world. I could eat sushi every day for the rest of my life and never get sick of it. I have a phobia of sharks. Take me anywhere near a body of water and I will curl up into a little ball of fear and hate you forever. I am not, however, afraid of the supernatural. (See what I did there?) I used to be the wimpiest kid in the history of wimpy kids. To some degree, I still am. I can't watch the Nightmare Before Christmas because the scientist scares me too much. Yet I love the Haunted Mansion ride at Disneyland and all things uncanny. I am completely and utterly fascinated by the origins of urban myths and the supernatural, and how they have evolved over time. Since I wanted to learn more about them myself, I figured why not share it with the world? So, World, this is for you. Go forth and learn. Enjoy.

Posted on March 30, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

