Djinns vs. Aladdin’s Genie

At this point, I feel like I shouldn’t have to tell you to go watch that video up there anymore. You know the drill.

Now that you know all about Djinns, let’s go deeper (Inception, anyone?).

Whenever people ask me what my favorite animated Disney movie is, I’m always stumped. I have so many favorites: The Little Mermaid, Aladdin, Peter Pan. I usually end up just saying Aladdin, though. Maybe because I had a huge crush on him when I was little. It got to the point where I threw Imaginary-Jasmine out the window of a moving car so that I could be with Imaginary-Aladdin. Needless to say, the relationship didn’t work out. Mostly because of his lack of existence. Also, because I was about 6 years-old.

If you remember, in Aladdin Aladdin rubs the magic lamp, Genie is freed, and Aladdin gets three wishes. So, if I say “genie” you probably think of a large blue man voiced by Robin Williams, am I right? Well, what if I say “djinn”? I don’t know about you, but I picture something a little darker when I think of Djinns. Genies and Djinns are the same thing. In fact, when Djinn is translated into English, it means “genie.”

For the most part animated Disney movies aren’t scary. Yes, there are instances when you watch them back as an adult and go “oh, my God! That’s horrible! How did this not terrify me as a child?!” I think that realization hit me when I watched Anastasia (which, admittedly, isn’t Disney, but it is animated) when I was 13. There is this one bit where Rasputin’s head falls into his stomach, and he just reaches in and pulls it out. I don’t understand how I didn’t run away screaming at that point when I was a kid. Mostly, though, Disney is pretty tame. They don’t aim to scare little kids. They’d be losing their main audience.

So, when they did Aladdin they couldn’t portray Djinns as they really are: scary. They are invisible, hostile creatures who delight in frightening people. No one would want to watch a movie about a street rat that gets continuously tricked and scared by a genie. Thus, they had to make the genie friendly.

Long story short, if you ever meet a Djinn, don’t expect to be friends like Aladdin and Genie. It probably won’t sound like Robin Williams, either.

I will just leave you with this:

About alexisawkward

I'm Alex. I'm a 19-year-old college student majoring in Creative Writing and Screenwriting. I write things. I also make YouTube videos and Tweet about the insignificant details of my daily life. Sometimes I'm funny, but I'm always awkward. I'm one of the weirdest people you'll ever meet. I love nail polish more than anything else in the world. I could eat sushi every day for the rest of my life and never get sick of it. I have a phobia of sharks. Take me anywhere near a body of water and I will curl up into a little ball of fear and hate you forever. I am not, however, afraid of the supernatural. (See what I did there?) I used to be the wimpiest kid in the history of wimpy kids. To some degree, I still am. I can't watch the Nightmare Before Christmas because the scientist scares me too much. Yet I love the Haunted Mansion ride at Disneyland and all things uncanny. I am completely and utterly fascinated by the origins of urban myths and the supernatural, and how they have evolved over time. Since I wanted to learn more about them myself, I figured why not share it with the world? So, World, this is for you. Go forth and learn. Enjoy.

Posted on March 9, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. My Genie will sound like Neil Patrick Harris.

  2. I find the supernatural so interesting and I love that your blog is based around it! I really like the way you write– especially how you include so many different references within your posts. Good job!

  3. Kudos to you for making a video for every post. Also I would have never thought there was so much to learn about Genies, or should I say Djinns. I also love the use of visuals throughout the post.

  4. I love how you start out describing djinn’s then go into a real life perspective of questioning their portrayal in a Disney movie. I thought that shift was exceptional. The points you account for are very true and cast an underlying perspective that Disney keeps things happy and simple for the children. Anyways, great post, thank you!

    -Jonathan Amato

Leave a Reply

