Wendigos

Before you start in on this blog post, go watch that video right up there. You’ll be completely lost otherwise. And, really, don’t you want to see my shining face? Actually, don’t answer that. Just watch the video.

Now that you’re all filled in on the terrifying legend of the Wendigo, doesn’t it make you never want to go outside ever again? Yeah, me too.

Like many other legends, Wendigos could have been fabricated as a cautionary tale. Since cannibalism is taboo, the legend of the Wendigo could serve to deter people from eating human flesh.

There have been several sightings of Wendigos, however. In Rosesu, Minnesota, the presence of a Wendigo signaled a death in the town. In this case, the Wendigo acted as a sort of Banshee. From the late 1800’s to the 1920’s, there was an unexpected death shortly after each Wendigo sighting.

Jack Fiddler, a Cree Indian, was one of the most famous Wendigo hunters. He claimed to have killed over 14 Wendigos throughout his life. His last kill, however, ended in him being jailed on a murder charge. Jack Fiddler and his son Joseph killed a Cree Indian woman, believing her to be possessed by the spirit of a Wendigo and on the verge of transforming completely.

In Supernatural, a Wendigo hunts around Blackwater Ridge, Colorado. Unlike the actual legend, this Wendigo only hunts every 23 years. At one point, Dean says “more than anything, a Wendigo knows how to last long winters without food. It hibernates for years at a time. When it’s awake it keeps its victims alive; it stores them so it can feed whenever it wants.” This idea worked with the story of the episode, but it doesn’t go along with the real legend of the Wendigo. They are constantly hunting and consuming humans.

The Wendigo in the episode can also perfectly imitate the human voice. It uses this ability to lure its victims into its claws. I don’t know about you, but that makes me want to run in the opposite direction when someone calls me. I’m actually getting nervous typing this. I mean, have you seen these things?! They’re legitimately terrifying. I wouldn’t want to come face-to-face with one in the woods.

Sam and Dean make it a point to say that a Wendigo is a “damn near perfect hunter” that it’s a “good hunter in the day, but an unbelievable hunter at night.” I think I can add being eaten by a Wendigo to my list of reasons I don’t like going outside at night. In the episode, though, a Wendigo got into a cabin by unlocking the door from the outside, so it doesn’t really matter where you are, I guess. Just stay bundled up under your covers in bed and hope it doesn’t find you. Are you scared yet?

About alexisawkward

I'm Alex. I'm a 19-year-old college student majoring in Creative Writing and Screenwriting. I write things. I also make YouTube videos and Tweet about the insignificant details of my daily life. Sometimes I'm funny, but I'm always awkward. I'm one of the weirdest people you'll ever meet. I love nail polish more than anything else in the world. I could eat sushi every day for the rest of my life and never get sick of it. I have a phobia of sharks. Take me anywhere near a body of water and I will curl up into a little ball of fear and hate you forever. I am not, however, afraid of the supernatural. (See what I did there?) I used to be the wimpiest kid in the history of wimpy kids. To some degree, I still am. I can't watch the Nightmare Before Christmas because the scientist scares me too much. Yet I love the Haunted Mansion ride at Disneyland and all things uncanny. I am completely and utterly fascinated by the origins of urban myths and the supernatural, and how they have evolved over time. Since I wanted to learn more about them myself, I figured why not share it with the world? So, World, this is for you. Go forth and learn. Enjoy.

Posted on March 2, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

